High Threat and Integrated Emergency Operations Symposium

Naoru Koizumi
Associate Dean of Research and Grants

Ryan J. Pryke
Senior Grants Administrator

Office of Grant Development
Schar School of Policy and Government
George Mason University

3351 Fairfax Drive, MSN 3B1
Van Metre Hall, 5th Floor
Arlington, VA 22201
Phone: 703.993.2280
Fax: 703.993.8215

The Symposium on 21st Century Threats and Integrated Emergency Operations was hosted by the George Mason University’s Schar School of Policy and Government and the Arlington County Fire Department.

The symposium – held on Monday, December 12, 2016 – brought together a collection of more 300 subject matter experts and practicing first responders from across the Commonwealth of Virginia and the National Capital Region to listen to national and international speakers discuss a variety of topics, issues, and challenges related to the current threat environment and integrated response.

Participants aimed to develop a framework for instituting an innovative public safety-oriented platform of research, training, and education that integrates law enforcement, fire services, and emergency medicine to more efficiently and effectively respond to and prevent against an evolving scenario of atypical emergencies. Such complex attacks include active shooters, riot violence, multi-site marauding, the use of fire and explosives as weapons, and weapons of mass destruction.

Distinguished guests included Mr. Curtis Brown, Deputy Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security for the Commonwealth of Virginia, and Gen. Michael V. Hayden, Distinguished Visiting Professor, along with Dr. Mark J. Rozell, Dean of the Schar School of Policy and Government at George Mason University, and Ruth D. and John T. Hazel, Chair in Public Policy.

Invited Speakers included Ret. Chief Michael Biasotti with the New Windsor Police Department, New York, Lt. Brian Murphy with the Oak Creek Police Department, Wisconsin, Dr. Isaac Ashkenazi, Professor of Disaster Medicine at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel, Dr. E. Reed Smith with the Arlington County Fire Department, Virginia, Dep. Asst. Comm. Graham Ellis and Mr. Daryll Stroud with the London Fire Brigade, United Kingdom, Sgt. Dave Llewelyn with the Metropolitan Police, United Kingdom, and Dep. Co. Man. James Schwartz with Arlington County, Virginia.

Opening remarks were provided by Chief M. Jay Farr of the Arlington County Police Department, Virginia, and Chief Joseph Reshetar of the Arlington County Fire Department (ACFD), while closing remarks were provided by Capt. John Delany also with the ACFD.

Other noteworthy individuals participating in the symposium included Deputy Chief John M. Esposito with the New York City Fire Department, New York, Assistant Chief Michael Marino with the Prince George’s County Fire Department, Maryland, Mr. Jeffrey M. Dulin the Assistant Director of the International Association of Fire Chiefs, Capt. Sean S. Newman with the New York City Fire Department, New York, Mr. Thomas Anger an Ohio-based Attorney and Emergency Medical Technician, Dr. Richard Kamin the Emergency Management Services Program Director at the University of Connecticut, and Capt. Ryan McGovern with the Boston Fire Department, Massachusetts.

Organizers thank the Hon. Brian J. Moran, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, and Dr. Jeffrey D. Stern, the State Coordinator for the Virginia Department of Emergency Management, both with the Commonwealth of Virginia, for supporting this initiative.

Dr. Reed E. Smith, the Operational Medical Director with the Arlington County Fire Department and Chair Committee for the Tactical Emergency Casualty Care at Georgetown University School of Medicine along with Capt. John Delaney with the Arlington County Fire Department, should also be recognized for providing vision and leadership throughout organizing this symposium.

Pictured (left to right) are: Dr. Tonya T. Neaves; Capt. John Delaney; Dep. Co. Man. James Schwartz; Dr. Jeffery D. Stern; Daryll Stroud; Dr. Isaac Ashkenazi; Sgt. Dave Llewelyn; Dep. Asst. Comm. Graham Ellis; and Dr. Reed E. Smith.